Weather Forecast | Weather Maps

Dubai Holidays & The United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a Middle Eastern federation of seven states situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman and Saudi Arabia. The seven states, termed emirates, are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain.

The UAE, rich in oil and natural gas, has become highly prosperous after gaining foreign direct investment funding in the 1970s. The country has a relatively high Human Development Index for the Asian continent.

According to the census, the population of the emirate was 1,422,000 as of 2006. 17% of the population was made up of UAE nationals. Approximately 85% of the expatriate population (and 71% of the emirates total population was Asian, chiefly Indian (51%), Pakistani (16%), Bangladeshi (9%) and Filipino (3%). About 3% of the total population of Dubai was categorized as “Western”.

Area - 83,600 km² (116th) 32,278 sq mi

Capital - Abu Dhabi